Ex government/military chair

On a trip up to my parents bolt hole at the furthest flung reaches of North West Scotland I came across the first military item of furniture I bought.  It was a 1942 stickback chair, stamped underneath with the makers name and the 1942 date along with the monogram if GVIR that was applied to pretty much anything military during the 1920s right up to our fair queen Elizabeth’s coronation in 1952-3.   Unlike RAF furniture that was stamped with the AM and crown logo for the Air Ministry, government furniture or that issued to the Army would be simply have the current monarchs monogram on most occasions so helping identify RAF from Army items.  This is something that can be seen with RAF furniture and clocks.

The chair itself is in amazing condition and very solid. A lovely grain on the chair is visible too.

Now stuck at my parents I think it is safe to say I will never get it back. Damn my generosity! 

   
    
    
 

Leave a comment